George Tabori Preis 2017
Logo of the Hebbel am Ufer

George Tabori Preis 2017

The George Tabori Preis has been awarded annually since 2010 by the Fonds Darstellende Künste as the most prestigious nationwide honour for ensembles and artists from the independent theatre scene.

All stakeholders, patrons, artists and participants in the independently produced and broader theatrical landscape are cordially welcomed to attend the award ceremony.

This year’s programme

Welcoming address by Claudia Roth (Vice President of the German Bundestag)

Keynote address Alexander Karschnia (performer / andcompany&Co.) in a streamed dialogue with Noah Fischer (artist / Occupy Museums) from New York

Piano interpretations by Kai Schumacher and vocal by Nadine Finsterbusch

Presentation of all nominated artists and statements of the expert jury by Sabine Gehm (artistic director / Tanz Bremen) and Matthias Pees (artistic director and general manager / Künstlerhaus Mousonturm).

Hosted by Steffen Klewar (actor, director / copy & waste)

This year the expert jury of the Fonds Darstellende Künste nominated…

... for the main prize:
•    the Flinn Works company from Berlin|Kassel
•    the group of media and performance artists LIGNA from Hamburg|Berlin|Frankfurt a.M.
•    the four-member team of Monster Truck from Berlin|Bochum

... for the advancement prize:
•    the independent theatre boat people projekt based in Göttingen
•    the Berlin choreographer and performer Kat Válastur
•    the Hildesheim theatre collective Markus&Markus

The work of all the nominees will be outlined in video shorts. The official announcement of the winners of the main and advancement prizes will be made by associated laudatory speakers whose names, along with the names of the two winners, will not be mentioned before the award ceremony.

Duration: 90 minutes – followed by a conclusion of the ceremony in the Fuchsfoyer

Please register by 17 May with: preis@fonds-daku.de
For telephone inquiries (Tue - Thu, from 10 am - 5 pm): +49 (0)30 - 400 57 978

This year’s five-member expert jury consists of:
Sabine Gehm (Tanz Bremen, artistic director / chair of the Fonds board of trustees)
Wolfgang Kaup-Wellfonder (puppeteer and representative of the Verband Deutscher Puppentheater / deputy member of the Fonds management committee)
Matthias Pees (Künstlerhaus Mousonturm, artistic director and general manager)
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schneider (professor of cultural policy at the Universität Hildesheim and chair of ASSITEJ e.V. / chair of the Fonds)
Matthias Schulze-Kraft (LICHTHOF Theater, artistic director / chair of the Fonds board of trustees)

Information on past events and the Fonds can be found at www.fonds-daku.de

Past dates
May 2017
Duration: 1:30
An event by the Fonds Darstellende Künste in cooperation with HAU Hebbel am Ufer. Supported by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media.